The Monday to beat all Mondays

In the early hours this morning, Mme. Noir passed away. My boss, the Essex Girl, made the final phone call to Père Noir, and received the news that Frère Noir will travel to Kansas to make arrangements. I got the text to let me know at about 5 am, and I got up to begin the making of phone calls.

First all the phone calls you expect, to notify Mme. Noir’s coworkers and students. Then the calls to notify the College and human resources. Then the calls to suss out what information Frère Noir will need. Alas, he is en route from Morocco, and so we have no way of knowing until he arrives what he intends to do. So I’m gathering information on both sides, preparing for the possibility that he will want to repatriate her remains, and for the possibility that he will wish to have a traditional Muslim burial, which means burying her here within the next day.

In the midst of this, we have a guest speaker who has come all the way from Quebec to present a lecture today. Just his luck to arrive on the day of Mme. Noir’s death and the day before a predicted blizzard. Even while he is giving his lecture, I am in the midst of making the calls to bump up his flight to early tomorrow morning, and moving him to a hotel near the airport.

Additionally, in an hour I am going to an academic misconduct hearing as my boss’ representative. She has neither the energy nor the wherewithal to attend. In the interests of bringing the hearing to a speedy end, I will ask for the lowest punishment possible, hoping that the miscreant student will plead guilty.

I need the hearing to be brief, because then I must rush back here to orchestrate an office move of a graduate student who assaulted his (now ex-) roommate. The assaulted roommate, a graduate student in a neighboring department, has a restraining order against our grad student, and their current offices are less than 100 feet apart. So after some wrangling, I have found an office for our grad student, which is in a different building. Now, if only I can solve the mystery of the grad student’s mail and photocopying. If he visits our mailroom or our copy room, he runs the risk of violating the restraining order. So far, it feels as though I’m the only one being punished for his stupidity and bullying behavior.

As an amusing addition to my Monday, it was pointed out to me that the only review of my forthcoming book on Amazon, is a 2-star review. In case I was starting to think that the trend of this Monday wasn’t personal. So hey, if you’ve read the book, and feel like leaving an honest review, that would be nice.

Honestly, a snow day tomorrow would be a blessing.

About Redscylla

Stuck between a rock and a massive home remodeling project.
This entry was posted in Work is work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to The Monday to beat all Mondays

  1. Lauri says:

    Oh for the love of Christ. (If only.) I am sorry for Mme. Noir. But, she is past all the drama now. Who knows what the story with her family is? What ever it was, it worked it’s way out as she wanted. In that way she is the lucky one and the rest of us are here muddling on.

    Apparently I have arrived at the correct time. I just finished Lie, Lay, Lain. I found that I became very emotionally involved in the characters’ lives. And, I can see where Jennifer and Olivia have interchangeable parts of all of us. The fear that we aren’t good enough, that we aren’t physically ideal, or the fear that although we are physically ideal, that physical beauty and the outward picture perfectness of our lives is actually fake and cardboard.

    And both Jennifer and Olivia are so adept at handling their jobs. I can see you in there, Red, juggling all these crisises. Criseez? Sigh. That part of life is part of just about all of our days, and I am not sure if anyone else appreciates what we go through just to get through a day. At work or at home. (Partly Ha! pretty much serious.)

    I love the depth of your characters and the way you tie them together with the plot. Each detail we learn about them, either from their past or from their behavior whilst interacting with other characters and the events that unfold in the plot, make me cheer for them more.

    And I found the conclusion immensely satisfying. I enjoyed the entire voyage. Thank you for writing. :)

    • Redscylla says:

      Bless you, Laurie. Would you be willing to say it on Amazon? ;)

      And yes, at least Mme. Noir is past the travails and headaches of all that must come now. Today I stare down the bureaucracy of her brother’s visa troubles and work out the matter of repatriation, and it is a task I’m happy to do for her. I am so weary here at the last hour of the day, but surely not as weary as she was at the end.

      • Lauri says:

        Of course I will share on Amazon! :)
        Best of luck with everything you have to do today and the rest of the week.
        Still shaking my head. In admiration and gratitude for all of the “able” people in the world.

  2. Laurie says:

    Does it boost you a little bit to know that my book group is doing Last Will when we next meet on February 12? Hope that generated a few royalties for you (I expect they mostly bought e-versions).

  3. crankypants says:

    I *just* got here after reading the 2-star review on amazon in order to ask you why amazon has the book but it’s on pre-order from your publisher and is it more beneficial to you (and your publisher) if I pre-order it rather than feed the amazon coffers (because lord knows I already do)?
    So sorry to hear about Mme. Noir, and all the things you are having to deal with especially with all the stupidity of the students.
    I know Leeeeeenda love LLL, and gave it 5 stars on goodreads.

    • Redscylla says:

      I have no clue why all the goofy shit is going on with different release dates and availability. It’s a mixed by. I get more money, if it’s bought from my publisher, but I get better sales rankings and visibility if it’s bought from Amazon. So it’s however is more convenient to you.

      • crankypants says:

        ahhhh yeah, I see. BTW Ms. 2-star DNF gave it one star on goodreads! I was going to point it out but then I thought she might subtract a star on amazon. I will at least write a brief review on Amazon for Last Will.

        • Redscylla says:

          LOL! I don’t allow myself to read the 1- and 2-star reviews, so it’s always just this blerg feeling. I don’t even get irritated because I don’t know what the review says. It’s better that way. Maybe she felt nicer by the time she pasted over to Amazon.

  4. *sends a hug* even mondays have an end, thankfully!

  5. lauowolf says:

    I was about to say that at least tomorrow won[t be as bad.
    Then it occurred to me that fate might take that as a challenge, and you have a blizzard lined up.
    So just hugs.
    LLL is next on the list.
    I’ll review it as soon as i read it.

  6. Holy…. I am so, so sorry to read about Mme. Noir. I read your post yesterday and was up a fair amount wondering about the kind of person who chooses to go it alone. I wonder if more people would if their families were further away. Likely not, but not having had any near death or actual death experiences, what do I know?

    It sounds like an immense amount for you to be dealing with and I hope you have some kind of reward for yourself set up for Friday.

    As for the review, she doesn’t seem like this would be her kind of book (I checked out her other reviews out of curiosity). I’ve not read it yet, but I’ll move it up to the top of my list (Amazon promises here it by the 5th) and give it a read. When I read Last Will, I did it in 3 days, staying up late, even with a brand-spanking-new newborn. (That is actually the highest praise I can give any book – that I stayed up late with a fresh baby to read it, because my life revolves around my sleep opportunities these days.) I couldn’t put it down. I imagine it will be the same with LLL.

    Sending you a whole lot of love and wishes for a peaceful rest of the week, and some warm weather from CA.

    • Redscylla says:

      Thank you for the kind thoughts. I’m relieved for Mme. Noir, but very concerned for my boss. She seems fairly devastated. They were not terribly close but at the end, she was the only one Mme. Noir wanted there. I think my boss is also in that place of shock that comes of watching a woman 20 years her junior die so quickly.

      It’s funny I don’t usually let bad reviews bother me but there’s just something too harsh about the very first review for a new book being a bad one.

  7. leendadll says:

    Get hives and go back to bed for a month!
    I tried to post a review on Amazon last week but there was no review link. I’ll check again.\

    I hope Life settles down, and in a good way.

  8. amyhftw says:

    How terribly sad for Mme. Noir all the way around. The previous post was truly heartbreaking.

    I really liked LLL – couldn’t put it down. Not sure when I’ll get around to writing a review but I’ll try. I’ll put it on my list, at least!

  9. AuntieBellum says:

    Why isn’t bullying grad student’s new accommodation a jail cell??

    • Redscylla says:

      I wish. I don’t know all the legal aspects, but although he is in legal trouble, he is not yet in trouble with his employer. Too bad. I would like to see him out on his ass.

      • lauowolf says:

        Years ago we ended up being the cried-upon-shoulder for a fellow grad student who had been raped by another student.
        She was utterly unwilling to do anything official about it.
        (“I froze like a rabbit, I didn’t fight back. I can’t tell people. It’s probably my fault.”)
        You can’t push someone delicate into doing what they just can’t.
        Sigh.
        But it worried the hell out of me when I saw the guy was a TA for things like German I.

  10. aubrey says:

    Your 2-star reviewer judged another book as ‘too poetic’. Red flag, there.

    All the sadness and drama in one day! I am hoping the rest of the week will go easy for you, if only as an apology for its Monday bad behavior.

Leave a Reply

