And then, thankfully, I woke up

In my dream, I went to an animal shelter. It wasn’t completely clear to me why I was going to an animal shelter, but I apparently wanted to adopt a cat. It’s possible that this dream was a direct outgrowth of Flanny yowling at 3 am and me vaguely fantasizing about killing her, possibly by sealing her up in the tupperware container that holds the kibbling she was yowling for. So naturally, with Flanny killed off in my sleep-muddled brain, I fell back asleep and dreamed of the need to adopt a new cat.

A dog-friendly cat, I specified. Or at least a cat who was not afraid of dogs. Also, not a Siamese mix. Never again a cat with a drop of Siamese blood. Enough with the yowling. The lady at the animal shelter led me down a long hallway of cat cages, where I noticed an unusual trend. All of the cages held five cats. Not like a litter of kittens, either, but five grown cats.

“Oh, we only adopt them in sets of five. We’ve found it works out best that way. And all of these sets have already been checked to be sure that they’re compatible with each other,” the lady said.

Only available in meowtiples of five

Only available in meowtiples of five

Now, in real life, I would have laughed my head off, and said, “I’m not looking to adopt a Crazy Cat Lady Starter Kit.”

But in the dream, of course, I proceeded to look at these cat “sets” to see if I liked any of them. What I quickly discovered was that nearly every single group of cats contained … a squirrel. Four cats and a squirrel, or in one case, three cats and two squirrels. When I asked the animal shelter worker, she had a ready answer.

“Oh, it’s because of that video going around on the internet of the mother cat nursing the baby squirrel. Now everybody who finds an abandoned baby squirrel thinks that’s the best thing to do–let a mother cat nurse it. Basically, what it means is that we’ve got all these squirrels who think they’re cats.”

All well and good, but I have two large dogs, so I didn’t think it would be good for me to adopt a squirrel, no matter how fervently it believed it was a cat. So I kept looking.

Finally, I found a cat set that had no squirrels in it. Just five regular cats, none of whom seemed to be part Siamese. Downside: they were all white. Five white cats. Some short hair, some long hair, but all white. So I signed the paperwork and took them home. Yep, the person who wears all black, adopted five white cats. I hope my next stop in my dream was to buy a bunch of those lint rollers.

Bring me all your cat hairs!

Bring me all your cat hairs!

 

About Redscylla

Stuck between a rock and a massive home remodeling project.
This entry was posted in Funny shit, WTF? and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to And then, thankfully, I woke up

  1. Laurie says:

    I thought that box of lint rollers was a display of Sharpies. You know, for drawing your own patterns on all the white cats.

  2. Lauri says:

    I laughed out loud at Meowtiples of five.
    I have many many animal dreams. This one of yours seems nicely organized compared to mine.

  3. lauowolf says:

    My question is, what conceivable trauma in your RL could be hidden under the subtle symbology of adopting five white cats?
    Office paperwork in multiples?
    Fear of sliced white bread?

    • Lauri says:

      Lol, lauo! I have a purry, huggy, black Stringbean cat in front of my monitor right now….I can barely type because of the hugginess. Also ,there is an aroma of litterbox in the air.
      And a hairy tail in my face….oops he just hugged the monitor sideways. :)
      Sigh. :)

    • Redscylla says:

      It’s Flanny’s yowling! Sometimes I get up and chase her around the house and spank her with my slipper. The yowling unhinges me.

  4. Oh I’m rofl meowtiples of five! Hey I have that! But no squirrel lol. Abbie would eat a squirrel in a heart beat! I too thought that last picture was sharpies lol! Crap just realized I have a meowtiple of 5 now…

  5. leendadll says:

    i would have taken the set with 2 skwerls.
    i was having hyper-realistic dreams last week but can’t remember any of them – just the super intense colors and reality… one was a double-dream where I had to wake up out of one dream to realize I was in another dream and wake from that to stop them.

Leave a Reply

