Your inbox is almost full!

That is the message I had in my email when I got to work. You know what, I think the university might just have to increase the size of my inbox, because the influx of crazy is right off the fucking scales. I used to just get one department’s worth of crazy. Now I get 4 departments of crazy. And I’m still basically two weeks behind on everything, because of the two weeks I spent dealing with Mme. Noir’s demise.

I’m pretty much surrounded by people who are either purposely gaslighting me, or who are themselves so fucking crazy that it just spills over like a clogged up toilet.

This is the time of year when all tenured faculty members have to submit to an annual review. It’s not a big deal. Turn in your class evaluations and whatever articles you’ve had published in the last year, alongside a pretty basic three-page form. Then I upload all the electronic files to a main webpage where they can all look at each other’s files. Simple, right?

OMG, no. One faculty member gave me a flash drive with 9 folders, each containing at least 5 subfolders, and in one instance, 11 subfolders, each of which contained anywhere from 4 to 17 files. I did what any sane, and hoping to stay that way, secretary would do: I combined them all into a PDF portfolio. Today, she is LIVID. She wants them all uploaded in their correct folders as separate documents! Thankfully, my boss also wants me to stay sane, because she said, “Do whatever is best.” What’s best is nothing. The PDF portfolio works fine and it saved me about 3 hours of work. Suck it, Professoressa Infinitesimale. (Truth: she is the smallest adult I have ever met who was not actually a dwarf. When we hired her, we had to have a desk and chair custom made for her.)

Second faculty member sent me an uncompressed PDF that was 78 MB. WTF? It’s literally every scrap of paper he produced last year, including some 140 emails he exchanged with his publisher.

Third faculty member emailed me two photos from his phone–the two halves of a holiday card he got from a former student. Photos. That I had to piece together. Because never mind that many-thousand-dollar Konica Minolta that would have scanned the card and turned it into a PDF in about 30 seconds. Oy. Oy.

And you know what my very first task of the day was? Deleting Mme. Noir from the department’s website. I know it has to be done, but it wasn’t a great thing to get this popup. I am become Death. >delete<

This action cannot be undone.

This action cannot be undone.

This afternoon, I hope, will be significantly better. Princess Josey B. Wiggles has what is likely to be her final post-surgery follow up appointment. If the knee is deemed stable and healed, she will be cleared for bumpusing. After 4 months of no bumpusing, she is more than ready for it. Just in time for another cold front and more snow. Of course, she loves snow, and so there may well be a trip to dog park, no matter how much I don’t want to go in the snow.

About Redscylla

Stuck between a rock and a massive home remodeling project.
This entry was posted in Bitch n Moan, Dawgs, Work is work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Your inbox is almost full!

  1. Lauri says:

    Oy. Crazy making work stuff. Insane people.
    I don’t know how we keep doing this day after day.

    Please, let Josey be able to bumpus!

  2. *fingers crossed for bumpus* I feel your pain on the admin stuff – if only people would do what we tell them!

  3. mariser says:

    there are few things worse than academic IT – maybe faculty. the depth of their ignorance of basic electronic communication is staggering.
    of course, many of them have been spoiled by administrative staff who spend countless hours shaping up whatever mess they send in – but in this time and age ain’t nobody have time for that

    • Lauri says:

      Now I’m getting pissed off again thinking about how our hospital laid off all secretarial staff. The ones who did so much for us and kept us organized and were the underpining that kept the lab (and the rest of the hospital) going.
      But, as our brand new manager told us last week, management doesn’t care who does what or if anything is even done well. They care about money.
      And that evil imp (our new manager) is a perfect example.

      • leendadll says:

        I was at a job where we attempted to point out that it was more cost effective to pay a admin $8/hr (it was a long time ago) to do all the paperwork than to have $30/hr engineers wasting their time with admin stuff they didn’t know how to do – but mgmt only saw the cost reduction of the headcount, not the cost increase from lost time.

  4. AuntieBellum says:

    Here’s to a good follow-up report and so you and Josey can bumpus your stress away. At least for a while…

  5. leendadll says:

    I picture you romping in the snow with Josey, your dark hooded cape on and a sickle in the other hand. Too bad you can’t delete the one’s who deserve it instead of the one’s you miss!

  6. lauowolf says:

    A pity you cannot decide who gets deleted.

    • Redscylla says:

      To be fair, had Mme. Noir not shuffles off this mortal coil, she would’ve on this list of crazy making academics. She always was. After all, she left this life the way she lived it: without doing any fucking paperwork on time.

  7. The emailing of insanely disorganized files sounds like passive aggressive behavior to me. “I don’t want to do this, I find it beneath me, so I’m gonna mess with your head and send you 1750 MBs of files instead of a single file with a summary of my activities from last year.” Our very decent HR officer resigned because the faculty gave her so much crap about having to attend state-mandated training on the use of campus technology. The result was that the administrators decided to pass a rule saying that profs and staff could no longer use office computers and other technology for personal use: they’d have to clear everything with the IT department, which they’d leaned on so heavily to operate their computers for them. This sent the faculty into another tantrum, but I was gone by then and am no longer concerned….

    Does anyone have their fucking paperwork completed before Death comes along to collect it?

    • Redscylla says:

      Well, in her case, she left behind half-completed: her will, her life insurance beneficiaries form, etc. Like so many people who’ve been told they’re dying, I think perhaps she believed if she didn’t do the will and stuff that she wouldn’t die.

      • lauowolf says:

        lolz
        A friend who is a family lawyer said that over years of practice he noticed that people discussing their wills always said things like “IF if die…”

Leave a Reply

